Boy group CIIPHER breaks up, 4 members leave

Fans of K-pop group CIIPHER were left heartbroken following the announcement that four members have left the group. The news was revealed by the group’s agency Rain Company.

Korean news outlets reported the statement by Rain Company: “[After] sufficient discussions, Tan, Tag, Dohwan, and Won will conclude their official activities as members of CIIPHER today. This decision was made in mutual agreement between the members and the company in respect of their personal intentions.”

The statement went on to say the remaining three members of CIIPHER – Keita, Hyunbin and Hwi – would be reorganized into a new team. In the meantime, they would be continuing their individual activities and will “greet fans through various projects in the future”.

Fans of CIIPHER had been questioning the future of the group, following Aug 4, 2023 announcement that Keita would be joining the recently formed boy group BLIT. The group is made up of participants of the reality singing competition Boys Planet.

BLIT has since changed its name to EVNNE, according to a statement released today by Jellyfish Entertainment.

At the time, Rain Company had remained quiet when fans demanded clarification. It now appears that the reason for their silence was the ongoing negotiations between the four departing group members.

While this is certainly a sad turn of events for CIIPHER fans, we hope that they will continue to support the boys as they move on to their respective new projects.